JBC, Hakko, Eclipse & Thermaltronics: Soldering Station Comparison

Oct 15, 2026

Choosing a bench soldering station involves more than comparing wattage or temperature range. Input voltage, handpiece and tip system, temperature controls, idle management, ESD requirements, and the work performed all matter. This guide compares four station listings currently carried by MTE Solutions: JBC CD-1SQF, Hakko FX-888DX, Eclipse 902-093, and Thermaltronics TMT-2000S-P. It presents their published specifications side by side without ranking one as MTE’s preferred choice.

For additional soldering and rework resources, see the Soldering, Desoldering & Rework resource page and the Soldering Systems and Solder Stations collection.

Four current station listings at a glance

Technician soldering a circuit board at an ESD-safe electronics bench with several station consoles nearby
Compare the station, handpiece, tip system, and process requirements together when planning a bench setup.
Brand and linked listing Published electrical and temperature specifications Handpiece and tip information Other listed controls or features
JBC CD-1SQF, CDS 120V Precision Soldering Station 120V North American configuration; 40W peak at 23.5V; 90–450°C / 190–840°F T210 precision handle included; uses the C210 cartridge range Sleep and hibernation modes; listing describes the station as ESD safe
Hakko FX-888DX Soldering Station 120–899°F / 48–482°C; the current listing does not state power input Compatible with Hakko T15 series tips Digital display, temperature dial, parameter lock; listing describes the station as ESD safe
Eclipse Tools 902-093, 50W Soldering Station 110–120V; 50W; 250–480°F Standard replacement tip listed as #902-132 Temperature controlled; listing describes the station as ESD safe
Thermaltronics TMT-2000S-P with SHP-P handpiece 100–240VAC input; 55W input and 50W maximum output; the current listing does not state an operating temperature range SHP-P1 handpiece for P-series tips; listing also describes K, P, and S-series system flexibility Curie Heat Technology listed at 470kHz; published listing includes tip-to-ground electrical figures

How to read the specifications fairly

The wattage figures above are not all measured or described the same way. The JBC listing specifies peak power at a stated voltage, while the Thermaltronics listing distinguishes input power from maximum output power. Don’t treat those numbers as a direct performance ranking. The Hakko listing gives a temperature range but does not state power input in its current product description. The Eclipse listing provides its wattage and temperature range. Check each linked listing and manufacturer documentation for the exact configuration you are evaluating.

Temperature ranges also describe only one part of a soldering process. Tip geometry, thermal recovery under load, joint size, alloy, board design, and operator technique influence the working result. The product listings identify different tip ecosystems: JBC C210 cartridges, Hakko T15 tips, Eclipse replacement tip #902-132, and Thermaltronics tip families. These systems should not be assumed interchangeable.

Comparison points for your own bench

  • Work and joint geometry: List the component sizes, pad geometry, access limits, and joint types your operators handle, then compare available handpieces and tip shapes for each station.
  • Temperature and process control: Compare the required process window with the published range and control features for the exact model. For specifications not stated in a store listing, check the current manufacturer documentation.
  • Voltage and installation: Confirm the station’s input-voltage requirement against the bench supply and the exact regional configuration. The current listings specify 120V for the JBC example, 110–120V for Eclipse, and 100–240VAC for Thermaltronics; check the Hakko listing or manual for its configuration.
  • Tip and handpiece availability: Compare the compatible tip family, the handle included with the system, and the tip shapes your process requires. Confirm compatibility by model number before ordering.
  • ESD program requirements: JBC, Hakko, and Eclipse listings identify their stations as ESD safe. The Thermaltronics listing provides tip-to-ground potential and resistance figures. Compare those details with your facility’s ESD requirements and validation method rather than treating the descriptions as interchangeable certifications.
  • Idle management and workflow: The JBC listing identifies sleep and hibernation modes. Compare how each system’s controls and accessories fit your operators’ actual work pattern.

Frequently asked questions

Are the tip systems interchangeable across these four brands?

No. The listed systems identify different tip or cartridge families: JBC C210, Hakko T15, Eclipse #902-132 as a standard replacement tip, and Thermaltronics P-series with additional system-family options described in its listing. Verify the exact station, handpiece, and tip compatibility before purchasing.

Can I compare the listed wattage figures directly?

Not as a standalone ranking. The JBC listing states peak power at 23.5V, while Thermaltronics distinguishes input power and maximum output. The Hakko listing does not state power input in its current description. Compare like-for-like manufacturer data and the needs of your process.

Do all four listings specify an operating temperature range?

No. The current listings give ranges for JBC, Hakko, and Eclipse. The Thermaltronics TMT-2000S-P listing used here does not state an operating temperature range, so check the current manufacturer documentation for that detail.

Are all four stations identified as ESD safe?

The JBC, Hakko, and Eclipse product listings describe their stations as ESD safe. The Thermaltronics listing provides tip-to-ground electrical figures. Confirm the exact model’s documentation and verify it against your facility’s ESD program.

Which system is the right fit for a particular bench?

This article does not designate a winner. Compare the published specifications with your voltage supply, required handpiece and tip geometry, process window, ESD criteria, workflow, and current manufacturer documentation to make your own selection.

Review the linked product pages for the current configurations and use the Soldering Systems and Solder Stations collection to compare additional options. The related Soldering, Desoldering & Rework resource page provides broader process context.


Share this